Video games are the best on sick days

When you were a kid, did you ever pretend to be sick to miss school, stay home, and play video games? I know I did. I can very distinctly recall doing this to make progress on Link to the Past and Pilotwings, and a lot of other SNES games as well (the only console I had as a child was my SNES). Honestly, it’s fun to play those games, but even better when you know you’re missing school. This tradition continues for most adults as well, I’m sure. I have many friends who I know have called in sick from their jobs on the same day to have LAN parties and 3-day weekend marathons, and I personally did this for the first day of World of Warcraft’s Cataclysm expansion. It’s pretty much a time-honored tradition among many gamers to do this on the release of anticipated games.

Skipping to finish this one was a no-brainer.

What games have you called in sick to play? Were they worth it? I’ve had games that I wanted to play and progress and see what happens, and to do so I’ve skipped classes and put off work. I did this when I was playing through Borderlands the first time, but it turned out to not be worth the trouble. Don’t get me wrong, I liked the game, but it certainly didn’t merit missing a class.

To me, gaming is always about enjoyment and escapism. I’m sure it’s the same for almost everyone else, and I know that I relax best when I think everything can wait a couple more hours/days/weeks. When I missed school to play these things, I did it to get away from responsibilities for a bit and just play the game. I like to turn my brain off when I’m gaming. To me, putting everything off for that day and just playing the game was the ultimate form of escapism, and still is. It isn’t smart or healthy to do often, but everyone needs a break once in a while.

So what I’m getting at here is that even though I know this was a stupid stunt to pull as a child, teenager, and college student, I still look back on those days fondly, because they were really fun. The freedom, the shirking of priorities, and the self-indulgence, I enjoyed that stuff even when I actually WAS ill. There’s a reason is have never thought of a “sick day” as a bad thing, even though the person is…well…sick. It’s a weird connotation to make, I know. Long live the trivial sick day.

Posted on May 1, 2012, in Navel-Gazing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

